Returning Officer’s Report on Withdrawals

Notice in word format - Returning Officer's Report on Withdrawals dt. 10-8-2016
Ref. No.: ASM/AGM-2016/2016-17/ 10th August, 2016

Returning Officer’s Report on Withdrawals

The President
Asiatic Society of Mumbai
Town Hall
Mumbai 400 001.
Dear Sir,

Re: Report on withdrawals received in the matter of ASM Elections, 2016 to:
1) 7 posts for the Scrutinizing Committee for one year (2016-2017)
2) 5 posts for seats on the Managing Committee (2016-2019)
3) To fill one post of Managing Committee, which has fallen vacant (as per Rule No.15
for a period of one year (2016-17) (being the residual period of term 2014-2017)
1) The last date for the withdrawal of Nomination papers by the candidates who wish to withdraw from the elections was fixed at 3.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 10th August, 2016.
2) As on date and time, no withdrawals were received from none of the Members/candidates.
3) Therefore, the final position of the candidates in each categories are as follows:

A) SCRUTINIZING COMMITTEE (2016-2017) - 7 POSTS : At the time of scrutiny on 8th August, 2016, 05 candidates have filed their nomination forms out of which the nomination forms of three candidates were found to be in order and valid. The nomination forms of Mr. Vinay Udhavdas Devi and Mr. Udhavdas Govardhandas Devi were found defective and not in order. Mr. Vinay Udhavdas Devi was proposed by a defaulter Member. Whereas, Mr. Udhavdas Govardhandas Devi is himself a defaulter member on account of non-payment of Membership subscription. Hence, Nomination Forms of both these candidates were rejected.
Names of the three candidates whose nominations were found in order are as under:

S.No Name of the Candidates
1 Dr. Narendra B. Patil
2 Mr. Veerkumar S. Doshi
3 Mr. Baldev G. Chawla

There are only 03 candidates for the post of Members of Scrutinizing Committee. However, 04 posts are still vacant which may be filled by selection from the floor of the House on 20th August, 2016, the day of the AGM.

Managing Committee (2016-2019) - 5 seats &
Vacant post of Managing Committee (2016-2017):
There were seven candidates after the scrutiny of Nomination Forms on the 8th August, 2016. The proposal of Mr. Ramesh Shantaram Bandre was found to be deficient as he has not signed the Declaration Form attached with Form No.20. Hence, his nomination form was rejected for want of declaration. There are 06 candidates whose nomination forms are in order. There are no withdrawals from the candidates who have filed their nomination forms.
Names of the 06 candidates whose nominations were found in order are as under:


No. Name of the Candidates
1. Mr. Haridas K.
2. Dr. Varsha Shirgaonkar
3. Ms. Madhavi G. Kamat
4. Dr. Suraj A. Pandit
5. Dr. Namrata Ganneri
6. Mr. Rusheed Wadia

4. None of the candidates above have filed nominations to contest again immediately after three consecutive terms for the post of Managing Committee as per Rule 14(b) of the Rules and Regulations framed under the Asiatic Society of Mumbai.
5. All the 6 candidates above have filed their nominations forms issued by the office for contesting for the period of 3 years (2016-2019). Since the vacancy stands for 05 members only for the period 2016-2019, and there is one vacancy for the period of one year i.e. 2016-2017; under the circumstances the candidate who is to be considered as elected for the period of one year (i.e. 2016-2017) has to be decided by lots during the AGM proceedings on 20th August, 2016.
6. Declaration of the results of the names of the candidates for the 07 posts of Scrutinizing Committee for the period 2016-2017 and for the 05 post of the Managing Committee for the period 2016-2019, and for the 01 post of Managing Committee for the period 2016-2017, will be done after selection of the members of the Scrutinizing Committee and the outcome of the lots for the Managing Committee is drawn during the AGM on 20th August, 2016.
7. This notification may be placed on the Society’s Notice Board and shall form a part of the Report of the Returning Officer. A copy of this report may be given to the Assistant Returning Officer.

Adv. A.V. Gopalakrishnan, Returning Officer ASM Elections 2016
Dated at Mumbai, this 10th day of August, 2016